Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I'm new to shell collecting. Help?
01-20-2007, 04:25 PM,
Hello, everyone. I'm new to shell collecting and need some help. I live in New York and I'm an artist. I had this beautiful shell for
years and it was the only beautiful object in my otherwise monastic bedroom. One day I began to look at it carefully and realized I knew nothing about it. So I began to do some research and found out its an atlantic tiger triton. I've since bought several books. But now I have questions. I'm interested in buying gem condition shells so how do I know whether they are supposed to come with the operculum? What are great websites for collected rare shells? Are there seashell trade shows that come to New York City? Why is the Reeve abaster murex from 1839 considered the finest of its type? I can go on and on with questions but this seems to be a good start. Thanks to all of you respond.

01-23-2007, 01:13 PM,
Hello,